Players Moving On

August 14, 2018

The 2018-2019 season started last weekend, and there are a few familiar faces that have moved on to new clubs.

Tony Brown and Danny Lowes have left the club after almost 10 years, to join Rothbury and Heaton Stannington respectively. The club would like to place on record their utmost thanks to the lads, who have been with the club through promotion to the Northern League, Cup wins, the Great Escape, and unfortunately our relegation back to the Northern Alliance.

Alnwick Town Football Club are in discussions with the lads to arrange a night in the clubhouse to celebrate their years at the club, and we would love to see some former players come along to share the occasion. Further information will be announced once a date is confirmed.

Another long term servant to the club who has gone to pastures new is defender Ross Straughan.

After progressing through our Juniosr and Reserves sides, Ross has joined Coldstream of the East of Scotland Football League, and we have no doubt that he will continue to progress across the border.

Tom Macpherson and James Jackson have signed once again for Rothbury this term and will play a key role in helping the North Northumbrians following promotion to the Northern Alliance.

Other players to depart include Lewis Robson (Washington), Chris Laidlaw (Blyth Town), Ryan Douglas, Darren Riddell and Kevin Westphal (Bedlington Terriers), Jonny Wilson (Heaton Stannington), Josh Hay (AFC New Fordley) and Alex Laviers (Rothbury).

Thanks to all the lads for their time and efforts with the club. The clubhouse door is always open on a matchday to come along for a pint with the 472.